循环经济和再生经济,我们在说什么?

再生和循环经济,它是什么?

减少我们的负面影响是不够的,现在的目标是产生尽可能多的积极影响。

再生经济的讨论越来越多,又如何相关呢?根据经合组织的数据,世界上的中产阶级现在代表17亿人。这个种群的资源消耗相当于1.7颗地球行星。到2030年,这个中产阶级预计将达到40亿人。众所周知,就资源而言,如果我们只从资源角度进行分析,这一预测就不大可能成为现实。生态系统已经被过度开发,每年推动全球资源枯竭日(过冲日)。没有必要进一步强调这一意见,这越来越难以承认。然而,有办法扭转气候变化,生活在一个为地球上所有生物物种提供足够的资源的世界里。

每个公司或组织如何通过应用循环和再生经济的原则,参与这一根本性的、更可取的变革?


 

参与根本性的、理想的变革。

 

近年来,我们听到越来越多的关于需要减少对环境的影响。试图少排放碳,减少污染或提取更少的新材料经常被提及。然而,结果却很难看到。这种心态是基于一个原则,即作为一个人,我们不能这样做。好像从环境的角度来看,我们设想的一切都必然是负面的。显然,这种心态并不适合。此外,减少破坏甚至不足以减缓全球对生态系统的破坏,使经济与承载我们的生态系统相协调。

认为消极影响是发展的必然后果的观点使我们对显而易见的影响视而不见。我们可以设计开发,以增加自然系统的规模、健康和复原力,同时改善人类健康和生活质量。贾尼斯·比尔克兰

如果我们采用循环经济的首字母缩写,我们也可以呼吁必要的良心进化,因此倾向于一个积极和再生的动态。它不再仅仅是限制其负面影响的问题。现在迫切需要产生尽可能多的积极影响。特别是因为这种动态变化可以迅速带来具体、有力和统一的结果。

循环经济和再生经济的操作原则是什么?

 

循环和再生经济的原则。

 

在提出其原则之前,应当回顾,人类只是我们地球这个不可思议的生态系统中许多其他物种中的一个。这个物种存在了几万年,而生物体已经存在了35亿年以上。这种比较要求我们对自己在这个生态系统中的地位多一点谦卑。更何况,如果我们只考虑与我们各种工业革命相对应的时期,那就是从200年前开始的。在这一时期,我们成功地挑战了数百万年来的平衡,甚至威胁到比我们更古老的物种的生存。这就是为什么生物体是一个宏大的灵感源泉,我们特别谈论生物仿生,重新思考形式、操作过程、间actions 和生态系统。
这种经济的原则来自于这些被数百万年和数百万年证明的观察和操作。

 

在流动和交织中保持清醒和思考

 

再生经济促进清醒,而不是富足。

  • 原则1:资源的使用必须尽可能清醒。无论是在制造、使用过程中还是在使用寿命结束时,重要的是使用正当需要的东西,同时忘记最终浪费的概念。一切都必须是可回收和有价值的,没有什么可以污染,以允许未来的使用。事实上,有人见过一棵树不能再次食用其旧的营养降解水果吗?因此,循环的明显概念不一定,也只意味着回收,因为许多人做捷径,远离它。再利用的概念(更不消耗价值和耗能),拆解再利用或转移,但也优化用途,则更相关。事实上,有一天,当拥有一个无用的产品,95%的时间,如汽车,是一个反常。

再生经济无需提取新材料即可发挥作用。

  • 原则 n_2:这种对资源使用清醒的态度使得这种经济趋向于缺乏开采。提醒一下,提取原材料(特别是石油、矿物、金属)是造成一半以上温室气体排放和80%生物多样性损失的原因。因此,为了保护和再生生态系统而忘记原始资源变得至关重要。这种缺乏提取也对循环和再生经济运行的能量产生影响,而循环和再生经济完全依赖于流动能量(水、风、太阳)。

搬迁经济,重新开发知识。

 

再生经济是促进参与者之间互动的地方经济。

  • 原则 n_3: 经济的这种迁移还能够减少生态系统运作所需的能源,同时提高一个领土的复原力。事实上,一个地区的当地供应和估价解决方案越有活力,掌握的专利就越多,应对冲击的能力就越强。2017年底,中国决定停止从美国和欧洲进口大部分废物。这一变化产生了重大影响。例如,它很好地说明了塑料加工能力的消失。由于缺乏回收解决方案,这些技术已经消失到如此程度,以至于美国许多城市不再分类。在欧洲,该行业的专业人员很难找到新的加工解决方案。

再生经济导致合作而不是竞争。

  • 原则 n_4:行为者之间的合作促进横向的集体智慧,其中每个共同智慧都被视为其真正价值。这种合作精神鼓励物种之间的真正平等,并允许更好地传播信息。横向的集体智能可以更好地适应复杂和不稳定的环境。与它不同,金字塔性集体智能只适用于稳定的环境。正如高蒂尔·查佩尔在2018年Biomim expo会议上关于这个问题的会议上明确指出的,这些组织在活生生的世界中并不存在,也没有适应的能力,它们只来自农业和父权社会。

再生经济发展生命和进化,而不是摧毁它。

  • 原则 n_5:与生物一样,再生经济也促进了生命。这个想法并不是一直增长。与达到最佳大小的树一样,它停止生长,与生态系统的其他成员和谐相处。人类物种可能是唯一被推荐限制其繁殖的物种,限制树木的果实生产有用吗?不,当然不是。这就是为什么我们的生活方式是不适当的,与我们所参与的生态系统脱节。促进生活就是让生活繁荣。在如此短的时间内,我们销毁了太多的产品,我们可以简单地设计捕获碳、再生土壤和生物多样性以及改善空气和水质的产品或服务。

从活生物体中汲取灵感,建立这种循环和再生经济。

 

试图让人类走出衰退,从生物生态系统中汲取灵感是迄今为止最好的解决办法。科学家已经表明,再生生态系统是我们拯救自己免受气候变化的最好机会。这种大规模的再生将减少我们的全球排放,但也捕获碳。例如,恢复森林将捕获我们37%的温室气体排放,以确保到2030年保持在两度以下的良好机会。重建活土壤还有助于捕获碳、再生生物多样性和提高产量。将狼重新引入某些地区有助于调节吞噬植被的物种,从而通过光合作用改善碳转化。

我们避免最糟糕的机会之窗变得越来越小。幸运的是,有越来越多的例子表明,事情可以朝着正确的方向前进。巴基斯坦已完成了10亿棵树的种植,并已开始在未来几年种植100亿棵新树,因为这种影响在环境、经济或社会方面非常有益。篮球品牌Veja通过购买天然橡胶和有机棉,为亚马逊森林的几个地区的重建做出了贡献。或者以湄公河的Les Vergers为例,作为水果和蔬菜的加工者,它鼓励数百名越南农民转向农林业和永久栽培。有很多例子,他们只需要复制,以恢复已销毁的内容。

最后,正如你们所理解的,寻求不可能的增长或以衰退为目标已不再合适。这些看法是由国内生产总值等不良指标引起的。我们必须尽快再生,使生命以各种形式蓬勃发展,这不是生命的最终意义吗?

consequat. Praesent ut accumsan libero. massa Praesent eget Nullam

Circular and regenerative economy, what are we talking about?

Regenerative and circular economy, what is it?

Reducing our negative impacts is not enough, the goal now is to have as many positive impacts as possible.

According to the OECD, the world’s middle class now represents 1.7 billion people. The resource consumption of this population corresponds to the equivalent of 1.7 Earth planets. By 2030, this middle class is expected to reach 4 billion people. It is well understood that in terms of resources, it is unlikely that this forecast will become a reality if we analyse only from a resource point of view. Ecosystems are already overexploited and the day of global resource depletion (the Overshoot Days) is being pushed forward every year. There is no need to dwell further on the observation, which is increasingly difficult to admit. Yet, solutions exist to reverse climate change and live in a world with enough resources for all the living species on this planet.

How can each company or organization, by applying the principles of a circular and regenerative economy, to participate in this fundamental and more than desirable change?


 

Participate in a fundamental and desirable change.

 

In recent years, we have heard more and more about the need to reduce our environmental impact. Trying to emit less carbon, pollute less or extract less new materials is often mentioned. However, the results are slow to be seen. This state of mind is based on the principle that as a human being, we cannot do otherwise. As if everything we conceive is necessarily negative from an environmental point of view. Obviously, this state of mind is not the right one. Moreover, doing less damage is not even enough to slow the global destruction of ecosystems and reconcile the economy with the ecosystems that host us.

« The view that negative impacts are an inevitable consequence of development has blinded us to the obvious. We could design development to increase the size, health and resilience of natural systems, while improving human health and life quality.» Janis Birkeland

If we take up the initials of Circular Economy, we can also call for a necessary Consciences Evolution and therefore tend towards a dynamic that is positive and regenerative. It is no longer just a question of limiting its negative impacts. It is now urgent to have as many positive impacts as possible. Especially since this change in dynamics can quickly bring concrete, powerful and unifying results.

What are the operating principles for a circular and regenerative economy?

 

Principles of a circular and regenerative economy.

 

Before giving its principles, it should be recalled that humanity is only one species among many others on this incredible ecosystem that is our planet Earth. This species has been present for a few tens of thousands of years while living organisms have existed for more than 3.5 billion years. The comparison calls us to a little more humility in relation to our position in this ecosystem. Even more so, if we consider only the period corresponding to our various industrial revolutions that began just 200 years ago. A period during which we have managed to challenge the balances that have existed for millions of years and even threaten the survival of species much older than us. This is why living organisms are a magnificent source of inspiration, we talk about biomimicry in particular, to rethink forms, operating processes, interactions and ecosystems.
The principles of this economy derive from these observations and operations that have been proven for millions and millions of years:

 

Become sober and think within flows and interractions

 

Regenerative economy promotes sobriety, rather than abundance.

  • Principle n°1: the use of resources must be as sober as possible.
Whether during manufacture, use or at the end of its life, it is important to be efficient by using what is just necessary but also by forgetting the notion of ultimate waste. Everything must be recoverable and valued, nothing should be polluted to allow a future use. Indeed, has anyone ever seen a tree that was not able to consume again one of its old nutrient-degraded fruits? Hence the obvious notion of circularity which does not necessarily and only imply recycling, as many people do the short cut, far from it. The notions of reuse (much less value-destroying and energy-consuming), dismantling for reuse or diversion but also optimization of uses are much more relevant. Indeed, there will come a time when owning a useless product 95% of the time, such as a car, was an aberration.

Regenerative economy can work without extracting new materials.

  • Principle n°2: This sobriety in the use of resources makes this economy tend towards the absence of extraction. As a reminder, the extraction of raw materials (oil, minerals, metals in particular) is now responsible for more than half of greenhouse gas emissions and 80% of biodiversity losses. This is why it is becoming crucial to forget virgin resources in order to preserve and regenerate ecosystems. This lack of extraction also has consequences on the energy with which the circular and regenerative economy operates, which depends solely on flow energies (water, wind, sun).

Relocate the economy and redevelop know-how.

 

Regenerative economy is a local economy that promotes interaction between actors.

  • Principle n°3:  This relocation of the economy also makes it possible to reduce the energy required for the functioning of the ecosystem but also to improve the resilience of a territory. Indeed, the more dynamic a territory will be with local supply and valuation solutions, the more know-how will be available and the stronger the capacity to respond to shocks will be. At the end of 2017, China decided to stop importing most waste from America or Europe. This change has had major repercussions. It illustrates well the disappearance of plastic processing capacities, for example. The know-how has disappeared to such an extent that many cities in the United States no longer sort, due to the lack of a recycling solution. In Europe, professionals in the sector have great difficulty in finding new processing solutions.

Regenerative economy leads to cooperation rather than competition.

  • Principle n°4: Cooperation between actors promotes a horizontal collective intelligence where each one is considered at its true value. This spirit of cooperation encourages true equity between species and permits a better dissemination of information. Horizontal collective intelligence makes it possible to better adapt to a complex and unstable environment. Unlike it, pyramidal collective intelligence is only suitable for stable environments. As Gauthier Chapelle clearly points out in his conference on this subject at Biomim’expo 2018, these organizations do not exist in the living world and have no capacity for adaptation, they come only from agricultural and patriarchal societies.

Regenerative economy develop life and evolution, rather than destroying it.

  • Principle n°5:Like living things, the regenerative economy promotes life. The idea is not to grow all the time. Like the tree that reaches its optimal size, it stops growing to prosper and live in harmony with the other members of its ecosystem. The human species is probably the only species recommended to limit its reproduction, is it useful to limit a tree in its fruit production? No, of course not. This is why our way of life is inappropriate and disconnected from the ecosystems of which we are a part. To promote life is to allow the living to prosper. We have destroyed too much in such a short period of time when we can quite simply design products or services that capture carbon, regenerate soils and biodiversity, and improve air and water quality.

Drawing inspiration from living organisms to set up this circular and regenerative economy.

 

To try to get humanity out of the slump, drawing inspiration from living ecosystems is by far the best solution. Scientists have shown that regenerating ecosystems represents our best chance of saving ourselves from climate change. This massive regeneration would reduce our emissions globally but also to capture carbon. Restoring forests, for example, would capture 37% of our greenhouse gas emissions to ensure a good chance of staying below two degrees by 2030. Recreating living soils also helps to capture carbon, regenerate biodiversity and improve yields. Reintroducing wolves into certain regions helps to regulate the species that eat vegetation and thus improve carbon transformation through photosynthesis.

Our window of opportunity to avoid the worst is getting smaller and smaller. Fortunately, there are more and more examples showing that things can go in the right direction. Pakistan has completed the planting of one billion trees and has embarked on the planting of 10 billion new trees for the coming years because the effects have been so beneficial in environmental, economic or social terms. Veja, the basketball brand, by buying natural rubber and organic cotton, has contributed to the regeneration of several areas of the Amazonian forest. Or the example of Les Vergers du Mekong, which, as a fruit and vegetable processor, encourages hundreds of Vietnamese farmers to convert to agroforestry and permaculture. There are many examples and they just need to be duplicated to restore what has been destroyed.

In the end, as you will have understood, it is no longer appropriate to seek impossible growth or to aim for decline. These perceptions are induced by poor indicators such as GDP. We must regenerate as quickly as possible and make life flourish in all its forms, is that not the final meaning of life?

libero facilisis id, lectus ipsum Praesent Lorem odio at sem, efficitur.