À quoi ressemblera l’économie de demain ?

- vers une économie circulaire ? -

Alors que l’année 2020 a chamboulé nos habitudes, 2021 s'annonce comme un tournant et certains gouvernements l’ont bien compris. Les politiques de relance se définissent progressivement et l’on observe un regain d’intérêt pour la circularité. Alors, info ou intox ? 

Dans cet article nous présentons les dernières décisions politiques en faveur de l’économie circulaire et analysons la place réelle de ces nouvelles pratiques dans nos quotidiens.

Vers une économie circulaire

 Cette année, nous recensons plusieurs plan d'action en faveur de l'économie circulaire. En effet, l’Europe avec le Luxembourg, le Japon ou encore la Chine prennent des mesures fortes pour participer à la régénération des écosystèmes.

10 ans. C’est le temps que se donne l’Europe, ce 9 février, pour atteindre les nouveaux objectifs de réduction de l’empreinte environnementale des produits sur son marché dans le cadre du Plan Économie Circulaire. Depuis le développement de l'écoconception jusqu’à la lutte contre l’obsolescence programmée, l’objectif est d’améliorer la durabilité et la réparabilité des produits. Sept secteurs clés sont principalement concernés par ces mesures : l’industrie plastique et textile, les déchets électroniques, l’alimentation, l’eau et les nutriments, les emballages, les batteries et véhicules et enfin les bâtiments et la construction. 

Le Luxembourg n'a pas attendu les nouvelles mesures européennes pour entamer sa transformation. On peut dire que les autorités luxembourgeoises ont dévoilé leurs nouvelle stratégie pour un pays circulaire avec une longueur d'avance. Proportionnellement à sa taille, le pays a une empreinte écologique relativement importante. Pourtant, le Luxembourg semble avoir trouvé la solution : mettre en œuvre les sept piliers de l'économie circulaire. Se qualifiant de "plateforme test", les résultats ne sont pas garantis, mais une chose est sûre : les pratiques vont changer.

On observe aussi un tournant au sein du continent asiatique. Dans le cadre de sa semaine de l’économie circulaire, le Japon organise une table ronde qui se tiendra au Forum Économique Mondial. Ce nouveau partenariat prometteur permettra sans doute l’accélération de la circularité et des prises de décisions fortes pour les années à venir. L’Empire du Milieu, lui, annonce des collaborations internationales dans le domaine de l’économie d’énergies et de l’énergie verte. En effet, dans sa circulaire du 22 février, le Conseil d’État Chinois ambitionne d’adopter des mesures destinées à construire un système économique plus vert, décarboné et circulaire. Première échéance : 2025 ; les secteurs de l’industrie, de l’énergie et du transport vont connaître d’importants changements. La Chine devrait ainsi achever sa métamorphose et avoir mis en place ses nouvelles pratiques en 2035. 

Il y a donc une véritable dynamique qui se dessine pour les grandes puissances mondiales, et espérons que les résultats seront à la hauteur des efforts promis.

Certaines failles sont inhérentes aux systèmes

La prise de conscience grandie et les politiques évoluent, toutefois, derrière ces engagements officiels, y-t-il de véritables actions ?

On entend souvent critiquer le gouvernement européen pour la lenteur de ses procédures administratives. Actions tarde à être mis en place et les décisions sont débattues entre les Etats membres. Les objectifs sont là, les mesures sont prises, mais qu'en est-il du actions? La Commission européenne, force politique supranationale, dirige et oriente les politiques des Etats membres : c'est ce qu'on appelle un système " top-down ". Cela limite la flexibilité des Etats, qui ont du mal à s'affirmer et à prendre des initiatives. A l'inverse, malgré quatre années sous l'administration Trump et le retrait de l'Accord de Paris, les Américains ont continué à agir en faveur du climat. Reflétant cette dynamique, le "Coalition "America's pledge, créé en 2017, quantifie le actions des acteurs non étatiques américains pour réduire leurs émissions de GES afin de respecter l'Accord de Paris. Enfin, une multitude de mouvements émanant d'États, de villes, d'entreprises ou d'autres acteurs engagés ont émergé. Selon le rapport Accelerating America's Pledge produit par l'Université du Maryland et le Rocky Mountain Institute, 65% des Américains sont engagés dans de telles coalitions. Cette stratégie "bottom-up" utilise le leadership ascendant offert par le pouvoir important donné aux Etats.

             

L’objectif ici n’est pas de vanter les mérites d’un système américain vertueux. Ce qu’il faut retenir c’est l’effet papillon qu’il permet. Nous devons prendre conscience que les initiatives collectives émanant du terrain et les actions concrètes du quotidien ont, elles aussi, un réel impact.

En fin de compte, la question n'est pas : " Qu'attendons-nous pour agir ? " mais " qui attendons-nous pour agir ? ". Comme le dit si bien la légende du colibri: c'est à chacun d'entre nous de faire sa part.

Les pionniers d’un monde plus vert

Alors que les grandes puissances font les gros titres avec la publication de nouvelles mesures censées permettre un changement des comportements, certains gouvernements œuvrent discrètement depuis plusieurs années déjà. Dans les pays désireux d’adopter une économie durable : il y a ceux qui régissent et ceux qui agissent.

Certains territoires sont discrètement devenus de petits paradis verts. Le Rwanda, par exemple, a été le premier pays à interdire les sacs en plastique en 2008 et à les remplacer par des sacs biodégradables fabriqués à partir de matières naturelles comme le coton, les fruits ou la fibre de papyrus. De même, un samedi par mois, les Rwandais âgés de 18 à 65 ans unissent leurs forces pour collecter des déchets, planter des arbres ou rénover des infrastructures publiques : c'est la "journée Umuganda". Aussi, un projet ambitieux marque cette année 2021 : la création d'un quartier 100% écologique à quelques kilomètres de Kigali. Cette micro-ville appelée"Wakanda" devrait être prête d'ici la fin de l'année.

Plus touristique, le Costa-Rica se veut une destination verte. Depuis 30 ans maintenant, le pays œuvre pour la récupération de son écosystème forestier en le protégeant drastiquement et en replantant des millions d’arbres. C’est une réussite, car aujourd’hui les forêts recouvrent près de 60% des terres, deux fois plus qu’il y a 30ans.  

Enfin, le Bhoutan a fait de la protection de l'environnement sa priorité. Avec ses montagnes et ses forêts, ce petit territoire au cœur de l'Asie absorbe trois fois plus de CO2 qu'il n'en émet, un exploit à l'heure de la consommation de masse. Et ce n'est pas tout : 100% de l'énergie consommée provient de sources hydroélectriques et 80% de son agriculture est biologique.

Malheureusement, les priorités ne sont pas les mêmes dans le monde entier et si certains s'efforcent de régénérer les écosystèmes, d'autres continuent à les détruire. Politiques orientées vers les entreprises, présence de la corruption ou manque de moyens économiques... les causes sont multiples et rien n'est acquis.

Plus que jamais, il s’agit de penser de manière systémique afin de comprendre et identifier les leviers d’action. Les défis sont nombreux mais les écosystèmes sont liés et il n’y a pas de petites initiatives. D’ailleurs, la force de l’économie circulaire c’est qu’avec une bonne idée, un impact est décuplé. 

Skip to content

What will the future economy look like?

What will the future economy look like?

While the year 2020 has turned our habits upside down, 2021 is shaping up to be a turning point and some governments have understood this. Recovery policies are gradually being defined and there is a renewed interest in circularity. So, fact or fiction?

In this article we present the latest political decisions in favor of the circular economy and analyze the real impact of these new practices in our daily lives.

Adopting a circular economy

 This year, we can identify several action plans in favor of the circular economy. Indeed, Europe with Luxembourg, Japan and China are taking strong measures to participate in the regeneration of ecosystems.

10 years. This is the time that Europe have given itself, on February 9th, to reach the new objectives of reducing the environmental footprint of products on its market within the framework of the Circular Economy Plan. From the development of eco-design to the avoidance of programmed obsolescence, the aim is to improve the durability and repairability of products. Seven key sectors are mainly concerned by the measures: the plastics and textile industry, electronic waste, food, water and nutrients, packaging, batteries and vehicles and finally buildings and construction.

Luxembourg did not wait for the new European measures to begin its transformation. We can say that the Luxembourg authorities have unveiled their new strategy for a circular country with a head start. In proportion to its size, the country has a relatively large ecological footprint. Yet Luxembourg seems to have found the solution: implementing the seven pillars of the circular economy. Qualifying itself as a “test platform”, the results are not guaranteed, but one thing is for sure: practices will change.

There is also a turning point within the Asian continent. As part of its Circular Economy Week, Japan is organizing a roundtable discussion to be held at the World Economic Forum. This promising new partnership will undoubtedly accelerate circularity and lead to strong decisions in the years to come. The Middle Kingdom is announcing international collaborations in the field of energy efficiency and green energy. Indeed, in its circular of 22 February, the Chinese State Council aims to adopt measures to build a greener, decarbonised and circular economic system. The first deadline is 2025; the industry, energy and transport sectors will be subject to major changes. China should thus complete its metamorphosis and implement its new practices in 2035.

There is therefore a real dynamic emerging for the world’s major powers, and let’s hope that the results will be equal to the promised efforts.

Some flaws remain in the systems

Awareness is growing and policies are changing, but behind these official commitments, are there any real actions?

We often hear criticism of the European government for its slow administrative procedures. Actions are slow to be put in place and decisions are debated between member states. The objectives are there, the measures are taken, but what about the actions? The European Commission, a supranational political force, leads and guides the policies of the member states: this is what is called a “top-down” system. This limits the flexibility of the states, who find it difficult to assert themselves and take initiatives. Conversely, despite four years under the Trump administration and the withdrawal from the Paris Agreement, the Americans have continued to take action in favor of the climate. Reflecting this dynamic, the “America’s pledge” coalition, created in 2017, quantifies the actions of US non-state actors to reduce their GHG emissions in order to comply with the Paris Agreement. Finally, a multitude of movements from states, cities, companies or other committed actors have emerged. According to the Accelerating America’s Pledge report produced by the University of Maryland and the Rocky Mountain Institute, 65% of Americans are engaged in such coalitions. This “bottom-up” strategy uses the ascendant leadership provided by the significant power given to the states.

             

The point here is not to extol the virtues of a perfect American system. What is important is the Butterfly Effect that it allows. We must realise that nothing is better than collective initiatives from the field and concrete actions on a daily basis.

In the end, the question is not: “What are we waiting for to act? “but “who are we waiting for? “. As the hummingbird legend says so well: it is up to each of us to do our part.

Little green pioneers

While the great powers are dominating the headlines with the publication of new measures to change behavior, some governments have been working quietly for several years now. In countries wishing to adopt a sustainable economy, there are those who legislate and those who act.

Some territories have quietly become little green paradises. Rwanda, for example, was the first country to ban plastic bags in 2008 and replace them with biodegradable bags made of natural materials such as cotton, fruit or papyrus fiber. Also, one saturday a month, Rwandans aged between 18 and 65 join forces to collect waste, plant trees or renovate public infrastructures: this is Umuganda day. Also, an ambitious project marks this year 2021: the creation of a 100% ecological district a few kilometers from Kigali. This micro-city called “Wakanda” should be ready by the end of the year.

On a more touristic point of view, Costa Rica wants to be a green destination. For 30 years now, the country has been working to recover its forest ecosystem by drastically protecting it and replanting millions of trees. This has been a success, as forests now cover nearly 60% of the land.

Finally, Bhutan has made environmental protection its priority. With its mountains and forests, this small territory in the heart of Asia absorbs three times more CO2 than it emits, a feat in an age of mass consumption. And that’s not all: 100% of the energy consumed comes from hydroelectric sources and 80% of its agriculture is organic.

Unfortunately, priorities are not the same across the globe and while some are working to regenerate ecosystems, others continue to destroy them. Business-oriented policies, the presence of corruption or a lack of economic means… there is a wide range of causes and nothing can be taken for granted.

 

More than ever, it is necessary to adopt systems thinking in order to understand and identify change drivers. There are many challenges, but the ecosystems are linked and there are no small initiatives. Moreover, the strength of the circular economy is that it only takes one good idea to have a tenfold impact.